Blog Archive

Thursday, November 15, 2007

Western Women's Hockey League
The Western Women's Hockey League (WWHL) was one of two women's hockey leagues in Canada. The league was established in 2004, and consisted of teams in Canada (some former National Women's Hockey League teams) and one from the United States. The league office was in Vancouver, British Columbia and managed by Recreation Sports Management Inc.
On July 13, 2006, the NWHL announced it would absorb the WWHL's teams into its new West division. However, scheduling conflicts between the 2007 Women's World Championships and the WWHL championship game saw the merger collapse.
In 2007, Hockey Canada announced it would revamp the Esso Women's Nationals, with the WWHL champion and finalist meeting the Canadian Women's Hockey League champion and finalist.

WWHL Franchises
The champion of the WWHL is given the WWHL Champions cup.
A list of WWHL winners (winner is in bold):

2007 - Calgary Oval X-Treme
2006 - Calgary Oval X-Treme vs Minnesota Whitecaps in Lumsden, Saskatchewan
2005 - Calgary Oval X-Treme vs Saskatchewan Prairie Ice in Calgary, Alberta

No comments: